Kington is a market town, electoral ward and civil church in Herefordshire, England. According to the Parish, the ward had a population of 3,240 while the 2011 census had a population of 2,626. The name 'Kington' is originated from King's-ton, being Anglo-Saxon for "King's Community", comparable to various other close-by towns such as Presteigne significance "Priest's Town" and also Knighton being "Knight's Town". Kington is to the west of Offa's Dyke so presumably this land was Welsh in the 8th century AD. The land was held by Anglo-Saxons in 1066, yet devastated. After the Norman Conquest Kington after that passed to the Crown on the failure of Roger de Breteuil, 2nd Earl of Hereford in 1075. Prior To 1121 King Henry I offered Kington to Adam de Port, that founded a new Marcher barony in this part of the early Welsh Marches. Kington appears to have been a peaceful barony and also was associated with the workplace of constable of Hereford. In 1172, Adam de Port, possibly the great-grandson of Henry Port, rebelled and got away the country. He returned in 1174 with a Scottish military, only to get away from the resulting Battle of Alnwick to the terrific mirth of the Norman court. With this his barony of Kington was taken by the Crown and ended up being an appurtenance of the office of Sheriff of Hereford, ultimately being approved to William de Braose, 4th Lord of Bramber in 1203 for £100. The castle then saw activity in the Braose Wars against King John of England and also was likely to have been ruined by royal forces in August 1216. Within a few years a new citadel was started as well as the neighboring Huntington Castle as well as Kington Castle were abandoned. All that remains of Kington Castle today is a wonderful outcrop of rock topped by a few fragmentary earthworks. The old town clustered around the castle and Norman church in addition to a protective hillside over the River Arrow. St Mary's church, positioned on higher ground over the town centre. 'Chingtune' was recorded in the Domesday Publication in 1086, the name meaning Kings Town or Manor, high up on the hill above the community where St. Mary's Church now stands. The brand-new Kington, called Kyneton in the Fields, was outlined between 1175 and also 1230 ashore bordering the River Arrow and also possibly marked as part of the Saxon open field system. Situated on the direct route the drovers extracted from Hergest Ridge and also with 8 annual fairs, Kington grew in relevance as a market community as well as there is still a flourishing animals market on Thursdays. The community maintains the middle ages grid pattern of roads as well as back lanes. In the chapel of St. Mary's Church, there is the alabaster burial place of Sir Thomas Vaughan of close-by Hergest Court, slaughtered at the Battle of Banbury 1469, and also his partner, Elen Gethin. The ghost of Sir Thomas, and also that of the Black Dog of Hergest are said to haunt the location around Hergest Ridge. The Black Dog's sighting reputedly presages death. It is likewise rumoured to have been the prototype for The Hound of the Baskervilles as Conan Doyle is understood to have remained at close-by Hergest Hall soon prior to he wrote the book.