Arthog is a village, article community as well as neighborhood in the Meirionnydd location in Gwynedd, north Wales including the towns of Fairbourne as well as Friog. It lies on the A493, approximately 8 miles (13 km) west of Dolgellau, and had a populace of 1,010 in 2001, [1] increasing a little to 1,031 at the 2011 census. It is well known for its exterior activity centres and also the close-by Llynnau Cregennen. The Arthog Outdoor Education Centre is possessed by Telford and Wrekin Council and also is mostly used in term-time by colleges from the Shropshire and also Telford & Wrekin Local Education Authorities. The other outside activity centre, Min Y Don, has been household owned and also run considering that the 1950s. They as well are mainly utilized in term-time by institutions from the Midlands, yet are additionally greatly included with regional neighborhood work. In 1894, Solomon Andrews, a Cardiff entrepreneur, acquired land neglecting the Mawddach estuary. On the site he finished Mawddach Crescent in 1902. The row of terraced homes was the start of a purpose-built vacation resort he planned for the location. Nonetheless the planned development went no additionally due to the fact that the surrounding land showed improper for urban planning. Throughout the Second World War, the Royal Militaries commandeered Mawddach Crescent. It became known as Iceland Camp. The marines also built huts on nearby Fegla Fawr, the structure bases can still be seen between the trees above the tidewater. The town was served by Arthog railway station (on the Barmouth - Ruabon line) up until the full closure of the line in 1964. The line is now a path known as the Llwybr Mawddach (English: Mawddach Trail), as well as is preferred with both walkers and also bikers. According to the 2011 census, 28.3% of the area's homeowners had the ability to speak Welsh. Consequently, Arthog had the lowest percentage of Welsh speakers of any kind of community in Gwynedd. 70.6% of the area's residents were born outside Wales.